Facebook
Twitter
Youtube
Ustad Zakir Hussain celebrates the legacy of his father during the Masters of Percussion tour

Ustad Zakir Hussain celebrates the legacy of his father during the Masters of Percussion tour

 

Every Zakir Hussain concert and tour is special, but maybe a slight bit more in 2019, as the tabla maestro will be remembering, celebrating and paying musical tribute to his illustrious father, the legendary Ustad Alla Rakha, aka Abbaji,  who would have turned 100 this year.

Ustadji, who has broken down every genre and defies categorization brings together a rich musical tapestry to his Masters of Percussion tour, with the dynamic Niladri Kumar on Sitar, the prolific Eric Harland on drums. The tour also features the Mattannur Sankarankutty Marar Group, heirs to a millenniums-old sacred drum tradition rarely heard outside of religious ceremonies in the southwestern state of Kerala. This is a tour that should not be missed if they are coming close to you.

Stay updated with all music news


Dates

Wednesday March 27 – Costa Mesa, CA – Segerstrom Center for the Arts
Thursday March 28 – Los Angeles – Royce Hall, UCLA
Friday March 29 – Santa Cruz – Rio Theatre
Sunday March 31 – Berkeley, CA – Zellerbach Hall
Tuesday April 2 – Seattle, WA – Moore Theatre
Thursday April 4 – Folsom, CA – Harris Center
Saturday April 6 – Mesa, AZ – Mesa Arts Center
Tuesday April 9 – Santa Fe, NM – Lensic Performing Arts Canter
Wednesday April 10 – Houston, TX – Wortham Center/Cullen Theater
Friday April 12 – Bonita Springs, FL – SWFL Event center
Sunday April 14 – Fort Wayne, IN – PFW Rhinehart Music center – Tickets
Wednesday April 17 – Columbus, OH – Southern Theatre
Thursday April 18 – Carmel, IN – The Palladium
Friday April 19 – Chicago, IL – Symphony Center
Sunday April 21 – Boston, MA – Berklee Performance Center
Wednesday April 24 – New York, NY – The Town Hall
Thursday April 25 – Amherst, MA – Fine Art Center

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial