Bruce Hornsby’s New Album ABSOLUTE ZERO will be released on 12th April 2019

Bruce Hornsby’s New Album ABSOLUTE ZERO will be released on 12th April 2019


Three time Grammy award winning pianist, singer and songwriter Bruce Hornsby announced his new studio album Absolute Zero, will be released on April 12th.

Prior to the release of the album, Bruce Hornsby has shared his album’s first single, “Voyager One”.He calls the song “Steve Reich meets Prince.” Listen to the song below

The origin of Absolute Zero began within Hornsby’s work as a film composer for writer-director
Spike Lee. Hornsby started collaborating with Lee in 1992; ultimately, in 2008, he began scoring for
Lee. What began to intrigue him were scoring components known as “cues,” those comparatively brief
passages of music used in films to heighten certain narrative visuals and/or spoken developments.
Additionally, Hornsby’s in terest in literary fiction, specifically the work of Don DeLillo and the
late David Foster Wallace, inspired his songwriting. Hornsby’s songs, both in spirit and memory,
function collectively as an homage to fiction writing that, while often poetic, takes no prisoners.
The multi-faceted album is another example of Hornsby’s constant musical evolution and how he’s able
to combine disparate elements into an accessible soundscape.

Predominantly produced by Hornsby, the 10-track album includes added production from Justin Vernon
(Bon Iver), Tony Berg (Phoebe Bridgers, Andrew Bird, Public Image Ltd.) and Brad Cook (Sharon Van
Etten, Hiss Golden Messenger). Absolute Zero also includes musical contributions from yMusic, The
Staves, Blake Mills, Jack DeJohnette, Sean Carey, The Orchestra Of St. Hanks (Frost
School/University of Miami), Hornsby’s longtime band The Noisemakers and more.

Absolute Zero Track List by Bruce Hornsby

1. Absolute Zero (featuring Jack DeJohnette)
2. Fractals
3. Cast Off (featuring Justin Vernon and Sean Carey)
4. Meds (featuring Justin Vernon, Blake Mills and Rob Moose)
5. Never In This House (featuring yMusic and The Staves)
6. Voyager One (featuring yMusic)
7. Echolocation
8. The Blinding Light Of Dreams (featuring yMusic)
9. White Noise
10. Take You There (Misty) (featuring yMusic)


The track “Cast-Off” was co-written with Vernon who also duets with Hornsby on the song while “Take You There (Misty)”
was co-written with Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter.

Hornsby is set for a run of U.S. tour dates with The Noisemakers, including intimate showcase performances at Brooklyn’s National Sawdust, Los Angeles’ Troubadour, and more.


April 25—Wilbur Theatre—Boston, MA
April 26—Ridgefield Playhouse—Ridgefield, CT
April 27—Ulster Performing Arts Center—Kingston, NY
April 29—National Sawdust—Brooklyn, NY
April 30—National Sawdust—Brooklyn, NY
May 3—Beachlife Festival—Redondo Beach, CA
May 6—Troubadour—Los Angeles, CA
June 18—Charleston Music Hall—Charleston, SC *
June 19—Knight Theater—Charlotte, NC *
June 21—Atlanta Symphony Hall—Atlanta, GA (w/ Atlanta Symphony Orchestra)
June 23—Lime Kiln Theatre—Lexington, VA *
June 25—Bijou Theatre—Knoxville, TN *
June 26—Salvage Station—Asheville, NC *
June 28—The Majestic Theatre—Gettysburg, PA *
June 29—Smith Opera House—Geneva, NY *
June 30—Tupelo Music Hall—Derry, NH *
April 12, 2020—Cincinatti Music Hall—Cincinnati, OH (w/ Cincinnati Pops)

(**Source: http://www.brucehornsby.com)

Stay updated with all music news

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial