Bruford Boxed Set: Seems Like A Lifetime Ago 1977-1980

Bruford Boxed Set: Seems Like A Lifetime Ago 1977-1980

Due to unprecedented demand, Winterfold Records will be making the special edition of the Bruford boxed set Seems Like A Lifetime Ago 1977-1980 available again for a very limited amount of time.
These boxes will include a signed/numbered certificate.
This extension of the limited edition set marginally alters the original terms and conditions of sale. Those who wish to can return their original sets for a full refund. 
Bill would like to thank everyone for their overwhelming support for this project. 

Containing the collected works of Bruford on one extraordinary 6cd/2dvd-v box set, Seems Like A Lifetime Ago is a magnificent testament to one of the UK’s most inventive and important Progressive Fusion bands.

Featuring 2017 remastered versions of the albums Feels Good To Me (1978), One Of A Kind (1979), The Bruford Tapes (1979), and Gradually Going Tornado (1980), the set additionally includes the previously unreleased Live At The Venue, 1980 and the highly sought after 4th Album Rehearsal Sessions (also from 1980).

Showcasing the prodigious talents of Bill Bruford, Dave Stewart, the late Allan Holdsworth (who the album is dedicated to), Jeff Berlin and The ‘Unknown’ John Clark, the set includes a 16 page colour booklet (with band interviews and an essay written by Sid Smith), a reproduction concert poster, two black and white photo prints of the band, and a signed and numbered certificate of authentication.

Feels Good To Me and One Of A Kind are available on both remastered CD and DVD-V, the latter featuring 2017 5.1 mixes by Jakko Jakszyk.


Produced by Bill Bruford and presented in a 12” box, four gatefold sleeves contain two discs each:
Gatefold 1
– DVD-V 1: Feels Good To Me: 5.1 surround sound and original 1978 mix remastered
– CD 1: 2017 remix from original masters
Gatefold 2
– DVD-V 2: One of a Kind: 5.1 surround sound and original 1979 mix remastered.
– CD 2:  2017 remix from original masters
– Previously unreleased outtake of Five G
Gatefold 3
– CD 3: Gradually Going Tornado: remaster
– CD 4: The Bruford Tapes: remaster
– Bonus track: Manacles
Gatefold 4
– CD 5: Live at the Venue (previously unreleased and recorded in London in 1980).
– CD 6: The 4th Album Rehearsal Sessions (previously unreleased and featuring eighteen rehearsal sketches of material earmarked for a Gradually Going Tornado follow-up).
– 16 page 12” Booklet
– Sid Smith essay with new interviews with producer, engineer, band members, eyewitnesses and others.
– Previously unseen archive visual material.
– Complete band date sheet with contemporary critical reaction.
– 2 x black and white 10” x 8” band photos.
– 1 x A3 size colour poster accompanying ‘Live at the Venue’.
– 1 x signed numbered certificate of authentication

Track Listing:
Feels Good To Me (CD and DVD-V)
1)    Beelzebub (Bruford)
2)    Back to the Beginning (Bruford)
3)    Seems Like a Lifetime Ago: part one (Bruford)
4)    Seems like a Lifetime Ago: part two (Bruford)
5)    Sample and Hold (Bruford / Stewart)
6)    Feels Good to Me (Bruford)
7)    Either End of August (Bruford)
8)    If You Can’t Stand the Heat… (Bruford / Stewart)
9)    Springtime in Siberia (Bruford / Stewart)
10) Adios a la Pasada (Goodbye to the Past) (Bruford / Peacock)
Bill Bruford: tuned and untuned percussion, kit drums, tunes and final say
Dave Stewart: keyboards, reasonably advanced harmonic advice
Allan Holdsworth: guitar
Annette Peacock: vocal
Jeff Berlin: bass
Kenny Wheeler: flugelhorn
John Goodsall: additional guitar on Feels Good To Me
Neil Murray: a bass player when I needed one
Robin Lumley: producer
Stephen W. Tayler: recording engineer
Recorded and mixed at Trident Studios, London. August 1977
2017 stereo remix and 5.1 surround sound mix produced from the original multi-track tapes by Jakko Jakszyk and Bill Bruford
Ben Darlow: mastering & DVD authoring
One Of A Kind (CD and DVD-V)
1) Hell’s Bells (Stewart /Gowen)
2) One of a Kind- Part One (Bruford)
3) One of a Kind – Part Two (Bruford /Stewart)
4) Travels with Myself – and Someone Else (Bruford)
5) Fainting in Coils (Bruford)
6) Five G (Berlin / Stewart / Bruford)
7) The Abingdon Chasp (Holdsworth)
8) Forever until Sunday (Bruford)
9) The Sahara of Snow – Part One (Bruford)
10) The Sahara of Snow – Part Two (Bruford / Jobson)
Bonus Track:
11) Five G out-take (Berlin / Stewart / Bruford) [previously unreleased: not on 2017 5.1 mix]
Bill Bruford: producer
Steve W. Tayler: recording engineer, assistant producer
Recorded and mixed at Trident Studios, London. January-February 1979
Thanks to Bob Styles of Argent’s Keyboard Shop, Neil Murray, Robin Lumley and Jim Wilmer.
2017 stereo remix and 5.1 surround sound mix produced from the original multi-track tapes by Jakko Jakszyk and Bill Bruford
Ben Darlow: mastering & DVD authoring
Gradually Going Tornado (CD)
1) Age of Information (Bruford /Stewart)
2) Gothic 17 (Bruford  / Stewart)
3) Joe Frazier (Berlin)
4) Q.E.D. (Bruford / Stewart)
5) The Sliding Floor (Bruford / Stewart / Berlin)
6) Palewell Park (Bruford)
7) Plans for J.D. (Bruford)
8) Land’s End (Stewart)
Produced by Ron Malo & Bill Bruford
Recorded at Surrey Sound, Leatherhead, Surrey, UK, October and November 1979
Jakko Jakszyk: 2017 mastering engineer
The Bruford Tapes (CD)
1) Hell’s Bells (Stewart /Gowen)
2) Sample and Hold (Bruford / Stewart)
3) Fainting in Coils (Bruford)
4) Travels with Myself – and Someone Else (Bruford)
5) Beelzebub (Bruford)
6) The Sahara of Snow – Part One (Bruford)
7) The Sahara of Snow –  Part Two (Bruford / Jobson)
8) One of a Kind – Part Two (Bruford / Stewart)
9) Five G (Berlin / Stewart / Bruford)
Bonus Track:
10) Manacles recorded at Lupo’s, Providence, RI., July 17th 1979 and previously released on BBWF 004CD  One of a Kind)
Music from Feels Good to Me and One of a Kind re-shuffled, improvised on, and broadcast live on WLIR 92.7 FM from ‘My Father’s Place’, Roslyn NY, July 12th 1979. Recorded direct to 2-track and mixed for broadcast by Jeff Kracke for The Workshoppe recording studios.
Live at the Venue, 1980 (CD)
1) Hell’s Bells (Stewart)
2) Sample and Hold (Bruford /Stewart)
3) Land’s End (Stewart)
4) Joe Frazier (Berlin)
5) Gothic 17 (Bruford /Stewart)
6) Plans for J.D. (Bruford)
7) Age of Information (Bruford / Stewart)
8) Five G (Berlin / Stewart / Bruford)
Recorded live at the Venue, Victoria, London, May 5th 1980. Audio source unknown.
Jakko Jakszyk: mastering engineer
4th Album Rehearsal Sessions, 1980 (CD)
1) Hell’s Midriff (Stewart)
2) Sketch 1 (Bruford)
3) Restless Spirit (Stewart / Bruford)
4) Hope (Bruford)
5) Consequential Circuits (Stewart)
6) Matching Green (Stewart)
7) Should’ve Been Something (Stewart)
8) There is No Reward (Stewart)
9) Hooligan Juice 1 (Bruford)
10) Hooligan Juice 2 (Bruford)
11) Flat Bells, Claptrap and Trills (Stewart)
12) Sketch 2 (Bruford / Stewart)
13) Bedrock (Bruford)
14) Plotting The Heavens (Stewart)
15) Marrowbones and Cleavers (Bruford / Stewart)
16) Prophet Motive (Stewart)
17) Sketch 1 [Reprise] (Bruford)
18) Saturday, No School (Bruford / Stewart)
Bill Bruford: recording engineer
Recording source: cassette boombox on the floor by the drummer
Audio resolution on the DVD-Vs is AC3 and not uncompressed.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial